What are “8 points of contact” in dental insurance claims?

55 viewsOther

So, I’m understanding that it’s 4 molars and 4 pre-molars (bicuspids?). What exactly classifies the 8 points though?

One tooth can touch more than 1 tooth. I’m potentially getting a root canal and my insurance probably won’t pay because of the 8 point rule, but I only have 2 molars on the bottom remaining (all upper molars are intact -1 wisdom) and want to understand what constitutes contact incase I have to appeal a denial.

Edit: grammar

In: Other

0 Answers